New York Giants super talent Odell Beckham Jr. put himself on the hot seat two weeks ago after a viscous helmet to helmet shot on Carolina Panthers cornerback Josh Norman. The two, along with a few others, were battling on almost every play. Beckham Jr was pushed to his breaking point, and he broke in a big way. He appealed his one game suspension and lost, and he’s been all apologies ever since.

He took to Twitter last Wednesday, immediately after the suspension was upheld, to explain his appeal:

http://twitter.com/OBJ_3/status/679790908334817280/photo/1?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

This seems like a quick turnaround for a guy who appealed a ridiculously low one game suspension. I haven’t been able to find the grounds on which he appealed, but I’m sure it was more than “I owe it to my teammates to try.” It was probably more along the lines of “well he started it!” (Josh Norman was in fact fined by the NFL for his own actions).
He is right about one thing. He does owe it to his teammates to be on the field, but that doesn’t mean appealing a suspension. That means not attempting to decapitate the competition so you don’t get flagged or suspended. But the apologies didn’t stop there:

“I owe some people an apology. I wasn’t raised to act like I did the other day. I am not here to make excuses for my conduct. This isn’t about anything that was said or done to me. This is about my behavior, and I am responsible for my behavior. People expect better from me, and I expect better from myself.”

He goes on and on about kids and parents and role models. It is a perfect apology as every article has praised, but it’s hard to take any of it seriously when just a day before he was so sure he wasn’t wrong that he wasted everyone’s time filing an appeal and forcing yet another incident review. It’s not like the NFL doesn’t have time and resources to waste on bogus investigations and hearings, but it does call into question the sincerity of what he says, which is a lot more than the little snippets I’ve quoted here.
He seems to have convinced 99% of the people that he really has learned something, but with his coach seemingly oblivious to the whole situation (see My article on Tom Coughlin .) and the league missing the chance to actually really punish the first actual example of an intentional head shot, it will be interesting to see if he doesn’t get flagged at least once for offensive pass interference or a personal foul in his return this afternoon against a deflated Philadelphia Eagles team that probably wouldn’t mind taking out some frustrations of their own in their final game.

