The Pittsburgh Penguins battled to a 5-2 win over the Detroit Red Wings on New Year’s Eve. Down 2-0 after one period, the Pens power play got them rolling in the first minute with a goal by Patric Hornqvist. The goal was reviewed and upheld after a coach’s challenge even though it shouldn’t have been. While the NHL has been comically inconsistent with what it takes to get a goal called back, the actual purpose behind the rule is a good one. The idea of being able to take a goal away WITHOUT the added insult of putting a team short handed has taken away some reluctance on the part of officials to crack down on goaltender interference in terms of the goaltender’s ability to make the save.
I don’t think there’s any doubt that what Hornqvist does here prevents Detroit goaltender Petr Mrazek from making his intended play on the puck. Mrazek is fully inside the cease and the part of Hornqvist that makes contact with him is also in the crease. Even if you don’t believe the little push affected Mrazek, the fact that his stick was caught up with the stick of Hornqvist undoubtedly did.
This goal shouldn’t have counted because of this.
Verdict: the refs blew it on the ice, and the “war room” should be moved from Toronto to anywhere but Toronto to be taken seriously.

Advertisements